Proceedings of the

15th IEEE/ACM Symposium on Embedded Systems for Real-Time Multimedia

ESTIMedia 2017

www.estimedia.org

Copyright © 2017 by the Association for Computing Machinery, Inc (ACM). Permission to make digital or hard copies of portions of this work for personal or classroom use is granted without fee provided that the copies are not made or distributed for profit or commercial advantage and that copies bear this notice and the full citation on the first page. Copyrights for components of this work owned by others than ACM must be honored. Abstracting with credit is permitted.
To copy otherwise, to republish, to post on servers or to redistribute to lists, requires prior specific permission and/or a fee. Request permission to republish from: Publications Dept. ACM, Inc. Fax $+1-212-869-0481$ or E-mail permissions@acm.org.
For other copying of articles that carry a code at the bottom of the first or last page, copying is permitted provided that the per-copy fee indicated in the code is paid through the Copyright Clearance Center, 222 Rosewood Drive, Danvers, MA 01923.

Proceedings of the

15th IEEE/ACM Symposium on Embedded Systems for Real-Time Multimedia

ESTIMedia 2017

October 19, 2017 Seoul, South Korea

Editors

Sander Stuijk, Eindhoven University of Technology, The Netherlands Akash Kumar, TU Dresden, Germany

Table of Contents

•	Prefaceiii
•	Committeev
•	Keynote
•	Mobile Heterogeneous Computing: A Software Perspective
•	Full Papers
•	High Performance Network-on-Chip Simulation by Interval-based Timing Predictions
•	ML-Gov: A Machine Learning Enhanced Integrated CPU-GPU DVFS Governor for Mobile Gaming
•	Fluid Wireless Protocols: Energy-Efficient Design and Implementation
•	Approximate Data Reuse-based Processor: A Case Study on Image Compression
•	Approximate Compression - Enhancing Compressibility Through Data Approximation
•	Asynchronous One-Sided Communications and Synchronizations for a Clustered Manycore Processor
•	Invited Papers
•	Evaluating and Mitigating Degradation Effects in Multimedia Circuits
•	System-Level Reliability Analysis Considering Imperfect Fault Coverage
•	Reliable Mapping and Partitioning of Performance-constrained OpenCL Applications on CPU-GPU MPSoCs78 Eduardo Weber Wachter, Amit Kumar Singh, Geoff V. Merrett, and Bashir M. Al-Hashimi
•	Worst Case Delay Analysis of Shared Resource Access in Partitioned Multi-Core Systems

Preface

Dear Colleague,

Welcome to Seoul and the ESTIMedia workshop. This year we are presenting a workshop program that features many interesting talks on all aspects related to the design of modern real-time embedded multimedia systems. We hope that you will find our program interesting, stimulating and exciting.

Multimedia and camera-based technologies play an important role in our daily life, and have become among the most relevant technological innovations. These technologies have proliferated into a wide range of application domains like Internet-of-Things (IoT), Cyber-Physical Systems (CPS), Healthcare and Medical Image Processing, Security, Consumer, etc. The evermore increasing computational and communication requirements demanded by current and next generation multimedia and image/video processing devices together with energy constraints which characterize portable devices require innovative design methodologies and tools. The IEEE/ACM ESTIMedia aims to bring together people from different multimedia and imaging-related research communities who have worked separately but did not interact sufficiently to address the challenges facing the design of hardware and software layers of such highly specialized multimedia and image/video processing systems.

The 15th edition of ESTIMedia is continuing to be run in the Embedded System Week and will provide a forum for researchers, from academia and industry, to present and discuss innovative ideas and solutions related to embedded systems for real-time multimedia and image/video processing. This year, a special focus will be on reliability and dependability of multimedia systems.

ESTIMedia received a total of 14 research papers coming from many different countries in Europe, North-America, and Asia. Each paper has been reviewed by at least three independent reviewers to ensure the quality of the workshop. Each reviewer provided a score together with detailed comments and suggestions on how to improve the overall quality of each paper. After an on-line meeting, the program committee has decided to accept 6 papers out of these 14 submissions. This gives an acceptance rate of 43% which is similar to earlier editions of the ESTIMedia workshop. It also reflects our commitment to only select high quality papers for presentation at our workshop.

In conclusion, we would like to thank the members of the program committee and the external reviewers for their contribution to the quality of this workshop. We would also like to thank all authors for choosing ESTIMedia as the workshop where to report your research and your contributions to the scientific community. We wish all of you a fruitful conference and a pleasant stay in Seoul.

Sander Stuijk and Akash Kumar Estimedia 2017 Program Chairs

Committee

• General Chair

Muhammad Shafique TU Wien, AT

• Program Chairs

Sander Stuijk Eindhoven University of Technology, NL Akash Kumar

• Program Committee

TU Dresden, DE

- Lars Bauer
 Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, DE
- Jani Boutellier
 Tampere University of Technology, FI
- Jian-Jia Chen
 Technische Universität Dortmund, DE
- Henk Corporaal
 Eindhoven University of Technology, NL
- Masoud Daneshtalab
 University of Turku, FI
- Nikil Dutt UC Irvine, US
- Petru Eles
 Linköping Univ., SE
- Tony Givargis
 UC Irvine, US
- Joerg Henkel
 Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, DE
- Tohru Ishihara
 Kyoto University, JP
- Mohammed G. Khatib
 Facebook Inc., US
- Sungchan Kim
 Chonbuk University, KR
- Akash Kumar
 TU Dresden, DE
- Anup Kumar Das IMEC-NL, NL
- Youn-Long Lin
 Natl. Tsing Hua Univ., TW
- Alejandro Masrur
 TU Chemnitz, DE
- Umit Ogras
 Arizona State University, US
- Hyunok Oh
 Hanyang University, KR

- Maurizio Palesi Kore University, IT
- Hiren Patel
 University of Waterloo, CA
- Amir Rahmani
 UC Irvine, US
- Semeen Rehman
 TU Dresden, DE
- Selma Saidi
 TU Hamburg-Harburg, DE
- Donatella Sciuto
 Politecnico di Milano, IT
- Muhammad Shafique
 TU Wien, AT
- Weidong Shi
 University of Houston, US
- Amit Kumar Singh
 University of Southampton, UK
- Todor Stefanov Leiden University, NL
- Sander Stuijk
 TU Eindhoven, NL
- Jürgen Teich
 Univ. of Erlangen-Nuremberg, DE
- Bart Theelen
 Oce Technologies B.V., NL
- Theocharis Theocharides University of Cyprus, CY
- Hiroyuki Tomiyama
 Ritsumeikan University, JP
- Jason Xue
 City University of Hong Kong, HK
- Hoeseok Yang
 Ajou University, KR

• External Reviewers

- Tanfer Alan
- Anup Das
- Muhammad Abdullah Hanif
- Faiq Khalid

- Pham Khanh
- Jurngyu Park
- Chetan Arvind Patil
- Gagan Singh